Miracle Creek

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn’t even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

Purchase on Amazon $13.99 Kindle | $27 Hardcover

Release Date: April 16, 2019

Pages: 368

My Copy Came From: NetGalley & Sarah Crichton Books

Read Via: Kindle

My Like Level: 5 out of 5 

Genre: Literature & Fiction, Courtroom Drama, Suspense & Thriller

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 458 other followers


Book Synopsis from Amazon:

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we’ll go to protect our families―and our deepest secrets.

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine―a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic “dives” with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos’ small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night―trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges―as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author’s own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life “submarine” patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.

Purchase on Amazon $13.99 Kindle | $27 Hardcover

My Thoughts: 

Miracle Creek is the story of struggle which as we know, comes in many forms. Immigration, integration, fertility challenges, inter-racial marriage, special needs parenting, loss, financial struggles, and marital issues. These issues are all explored and part of the big picture in Miracle Creek.  My favorite aspect of this book is the courtroom drama which we see unfold one year after the tragedy at Miracle Submarine.  The lawyers are fiery, and the secrets they reveal are explosive. The characters in this book all have secrets which makes it so much fun to read even when you are reading about tragic events.

I loved this book so much, that when I finished it at 2am, I sent Angie Kim a message to tell her how amazing it was. I don’t give my 5 Star ratings out too often, but Miracle Creek deserves every one of those stars.

* I loved how each character had their own back story.

*I loved how the courtroom drama writing was intelligently written and kept me wanting more.

*I loved how I couldn’t figure out what the heck actually happened the entire time I was reading so that FINALLY a book ending surprised me.

*I loved how Angie Kim wrote in vivid details the struggles immigrants face and the reasons they choose to come here in spite of them. It really puts into perspective just how tough it must be to uproot your life and move somewhere when you can’t even speak the native language.

*I loved how rich of a story this was. I was hooked from the beginning, and never felt let down. 

Great job Angie! Cheers to much success.

Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for this Advanced Readers Edition of Miracle Creek by Angie Kim.

See this and other book reviews at http://www.BookItForward.blog

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter! @BookItBlog

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 458 other followers


 Try Amazon Prime 30-Day Free Trial Join Amazon Kindle Unlimited 30-Day Free Trial Try Audible and Get Two Free Audiobooks Amazon.com – Read eBooks using the FREE Kindle Reading App on Most Devices New favorites delivered monthly!

 

This blog post contains affiliate links. If you purchase something through a link, I receive a small commission. This doesn’t cost you anything and it helps keep my content FREE for you. Woo hoo!
 

 

Advertisements